top of page

Polka Dots Bunny Lovey

Okay, I'm in love! I think this bunny turned out so stinking cute. It makes me almost sad that it's a gift. Almost. I am SUPER excited to see what my neighbor thinks of it! She is having a baby soon, so I just had to make her something.


I crocheted a cute little polka dot blanket (see here), and I had almost an entire skein of pink, flecky yarn left over. Then my own baby gave me the idea. My little girl hates binkies, so when she is settling herself down she sucks/chews on this little bunny lovey someone gave us. So I decided my neighbor needed a bunny lovey for her little girl.

I started with loops and threads flecks yarn in sweet pink. For the blanket part, I used a 4.5 mm crochet hook. For all the amigurumi parts, I used a 3.25 mm (D) hook. I used a bit of black worsted yarn for the facial features, and then stuffing for the head.


Blanket

The pattern for this is adapted from the Crochet Even Polka Dots Blanket from Daisy Farm Crafts. I followed the same idea, just decreased the space between the dots.

Ch 43 (multiple of 6 plus 1). I did five rows of HHDC, then the polka dot row. I spaced the polka dots 5 stitches apart. I completed this repeat 4 total times, then added 5 rows of HHDC at the end. This gave me 6 polka dots per row, 4 rows of polka dots. I crocheted around the border two times. It's not exactly a square, but I don't really mind. I did have to block this piece because the border puckered just a smidge on the sides. It flattened out beautifully.


Bunny

Switching to the 3.25 mm hook, I followed this pattern to the letter: Sleepy Baby Bunny Lovey by Alanna O'Dea. Obviously I only made the ears, arms, and head for the bunny because I made my own blanket part. I've had my eye on this lovey pattern for a looooong time, so I'm really glad that it worked so perfectly for this project. And yes, I was definitely copying how she embroidered the face. It's just too cute. Then I just sewed on all the pieces and wove in all my ends.


This lovey used up most of the remaining skein, so that was awesome. I think it's just the right size, and the little flecks of blue and yellow make it so sweet. I am very pleased with how this turned out.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zebra Lovey Crochet Pattern

When I made that cute little striped hat, I also made this. The zebra lovey was actually the start of it all. I'm really glad to share this with everyone because it was so fun to make and turned out

bottom of page